Groups 19 and 4 take the spoils at Greater Northern Regional Championships

Strong showing by Group 21 at Armidale

TEN Group 21 players have the opportunity to make their marks at the 2017 Country Championships following a strong showing at Armidale at the weekend.

While the local outfits didn’t claim the Greater Northern Regional spoils, a number of individuals did enough to impress representative selectors.

Holly Fisher-Webster (Singleton), Harmony Liddell (Muswellbrook) and Michelle Walmsley (Murrurundi) were named in the women’s league tag squad, while Joe Adams (Denman), Matt Thompson (Aberdeen), Rohan Pottinger (Muswellbrook), Jarrod Wicks (Scone), Dylan Thorne (Muswellbrook), Andrew Pritchard (Muswellbrook) and Isaac Austin (Scone) received the nod for the under-23s.

Group 19 took home the Jim Sharpe Cup in the under-23s, while Group 4 made it three wins on the trot in taking home the Jane Walmsley Shield in the women’s league tag.

Group 4 started the day against the hosts Group 19 and came home winners 30-0, with Kim Resch scoring a double. 

Group 4 then took on Group 21 in their second game and were convincing winners 48-6. 

Abby Schmiedel scored a hat-trick, while Jacqui Jones posted a double.

In the final game, Group 19 defeated Group 21 28-6, with Hayley Ford getting a double.

In the under-23s, hosts Group 19 started the day with a strong win over Group 4.

The home team scored seven tries to run out winners 34-12. 

Group 4 then took on Group 21 in their second match.

In a tight affair, Group 21 ran out winners 30-24, with Adams scoring a double, while Group 4’s Mitch Dening also scored a double.

With Group 21’s victory, the final game of the day became important for both sides with the winner to take home the Jim Sharpe Cup.

In a match that went try for try, Group 19 came home the stronger after being down by 10 points, to run out winners 34-28. 

Brad Hickman crossed for a double out of dummy half for the winners.

The Country Championships will be played in May.

Women’s league tag

GROUP 4 30 (Kim Resch, Abby Schmiedel, Jacqui Jones, Brianna Trickett, Jess Baker tries, Amy Barraclough 2, Kim Resch goals) defeated GROUP 19 nil

GROUP 4 48 (Abby Schmiedel 3, Jacqui Jones 2, Kim Resch, Jess Baker, Maddy Adams, Hope Martin tries, Amy Barraclough 4, Kim Resch 2 goals) defeated GROUP 21 6 (Michelle Walmsley try, Shae Pemberton goal)

GROUP 19 28 (Hayley Ford 2, Selena Lansborough, Stacey Duff, Melinda Edwards tries, Carisa Baldwin 2, Kate McCulloch, Sasha Harrington goals) defeated GROUP 21 6 (Sheree Johnson try, Shae Pemberton goal)

Greater Northern women’s league tag squad

Abby Schmiedel          Group 4 

Maddy Adams            Group 4 

Hayley Ford                Group 19 

Holly Fisher-Webster Group 21 

Jacqui Jones                Group 4 

Amy Barraclough       Group 4 

Leica Le Brocq            Group 4 

Jess Brown                  Group 4 

Tiffany Walsh             Group 4 

Michelle Walmsley    Group 21 

Kim Resch                   Group 4 

Harmony Liddell         Group 21 

Carissa Baldwin          Group 19 

Jess Baker                   Group 4 

Aimee Diebold            Group 4 

Sasha Harrington        Group 19


GROUP 19 34 (Luke French, Malcolm McGrady, Jayden Ehsman, Brad Hickman, Sam Schiffmann, Billy Stewart, Jarrod McIntosh tries, Malcolm McGrady 2, Jayden Ehsman goals) defeated GROUP 4 12 (Zac Leonard, Jack Doran tries, Scott Berry 2 goals)

GROUP 21 30 (Joe Adams 2, Cameron French, Will Neiuwenhuise, Tyler Wolfgang, Dylan Thorne tries, DJ Smith 3 goals) defeated GROUP 4 28 (Mitch Dening 2, Dylan Lake, Zac Leonard tries, Scott Berry 4 goals)

GROUP 19 34 (Brad Hickman 2, Kyle Saunders, Malcolm McGrady, Sam Schiffmann, Jarrod McIntosh tries, Malcom McGrady 5 goals) defeated GROUP 21 28 (Tyler Wolfgang, Joe Adams, Dylan Thorne, Isaac Austin, Tom Vincent tries, DJ Smith 4 goals)

Greater Northern Tigers under-23 squad

Jayden Ehsman           Group 19 

Joe Adams                   Group 21 

Kyle Saunders             Group 19 

Malcom McGrady      Group 19 

Matt Thompson          Group 21 

Mitch Doring              Group 4 

Brandon McGrady      Group 19 

Rohan Pottinger         Group 21 

Jarrod Wicks               Group 21 

Dylan Thorne Group 21 

Mitch Dening Group 4 

Andrew Pritchard       Group 21 

Isaac Austin                Group 21 

James Ballinger          Group 19 

Daniel Howe               Group 4 

Casey Bowman           Group 19 

Callum Hayne             Group 4 

Damian McIntosh       Group 19