Border restrictions to ease for NZ arrivals, Queensland and NSW travellers

Travel restrictions are easing. Picture: Shutterstock
Travel restrictions are easing. Picture: Shutterstock

As Australia grapples with COVID-19 restrictions on our state borders, particularly in Victoria, we tell you where you can go. Border controls for visitors can change quickly - so check before you book.

In great news for Australian tourism, the borders will soon open for New Zealanders to visit NSW and the Northern Territory.

It's the first international border to open since the pandemic hit, and Prime Minister Scott Morrison finalised the deal on Friday.

Flights are expected to restart from October 16, and those arriving from New Zealand will be exempt from quarantine provided the aren't coming from a designated hotspot.

Here's a state-by-state guide for travellers.


The ACT Government has closed its borders to travellers from Victoria. There are no restrictions for travellers from other states.


The border with Victoria has been temporarily shut to curtail the spread of coronavirus. There are no other restrictions on crossing the NSW border from other states, but travellers will need to comply with the rules of their home state when they return.

NSW residents can holiday anywhere in the state, including Lord Howe Island which has just reopened, but are advised against travelling to NSW Health declared hotspots. Regional areas are welcoming visitors but book your accommodation in advance and call attractions to make sure they are open before travelling. Caravan parks and camp grounds are open, as are museums and galleries. Dining venues are open but group bookings are limited to 10 people.


Borders are open for all states and territories, except Victoria and parts of NSW, although a Border Entry Form is required. If the number of cases remain low, the NT has indicated Greater Sydney will be removed from the coronavirus hotspot list on October 9. Residents in the rest of NSW can enter the NT. Visitors who have been in a hotspot in the past 28 days must undergo 14 days' quarantine at a cost of $2500.


Premier Annastacia Palaszcuk announced on Friday that the border could reopen to NSW on November 1, provided the southern state doesn't record any unlinked community transmission cases between now and the end of the month.

Last week, Queensland opened its borders to the ACT providing residents fly and have not visited a hotspot for 14 days.

Borders are still closed to all interstate travellers from Victoria and most of NSW. Residents of the northern border zone in NSW are now able to freely travel into Queensland.

Holidaymakers from other permitted states and territories must apply for a Border Declaration Pass prior to entry and commit to take a COVID-19 test if they develop symptoms.


South Australia has reopened its borders to ACT and NSW residents. Visitors from Victoria remain banned. Travellers from other states may enter without restrictions but all need a Cross Border Travel Registration.


Tasmania is currently closed to interstate visitors and the government has said that there will be no changes to current restrictions prior to December 1.


Travel to Victoria is not advised at this time. Metropolitan Melbourne is still heavily restricted. Residents of Regional Victoria, which is on the third step of the state's reopening roadmap, may dine out and travel within the state for a holiday. Face masks are compulsory throughout the state when outside home.


Borders to WA remain closed. There is no indicative date for changes to the hard border closure at this time.

Stay safe: Holidaymakers are expected to practise social distancing, frequent hand washing and follow local advice. Information correct at press time - please check state government websites for the most up-to-date information.

While you're here... might also enjoy