Annual Presentation for NSW State Emergency Service Hunter Region 2017

THEY work hard to keep the community safe in times of emergency.

And, on Saturday, volunteers were honoured at the Annual Presentation for NSW State Emergency Service Hunter Region.

The event, hosted in Muswellbrook, acknowledges and congratulates the dedication and commitment of NSW SES members throughout their service.

The ceremony was attended by MP Michael Johnsen; MP Troy Grant, representing the Minister for Police and Emergency Services;  Muswellbrook Shire mayor Martin Rush; Councillor Mark Bowditch; Muswellbrook Shire Council general manager Steve McDonald; and NSW SES Assistant Commissioner Scott Hankel representing Commissioner Mark Smethurst.

Three Local Units including Muswellbrook, Murrurundi and Scone received awards recognising the actions of NSW SES members during the April 2015 storm.

The 2015 storm was one of the largest in the history of the NSW SES Hunter Region.

During the event the NSW SES conducted 127 flood rescues and responded to over 8,000 requests for assistance.

The awards included two Commissioners Unit Citation Awards which were presented to 22 members from Muswellbrook and Scone and the Commissioners Certificate of Appreciate for Murrurundi Unit.

Mr Bob Standen, Unit Controller Murrurundi received the NSW SES 30 Year Long Service Certificare and Medal Clasp 2. The Australian Government National Medal and 15 Year Long Service was awarded to Wesley Hicks (Muswellbrook), Amanda Mostyn (Murrurundi) and Karen Apps (Scone), and the Australian Government National Medal Clasp 1 and 25 Year Long Service Certificate awarded to Janelle Eades and Mark Elsley from Muswellbrook, and Debra Davidson from the Scone Local Unit.


Discuss "SES acknowledges hard-working volunteers"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.