Denman Little Athletics Club wraps up another successful season

SETH De Looze left the Denman Little Athletics Club's annual presentation with a big smile on his face after winning the 2019-2020 Sportsperson of the Year award.

But, he wasn't the only talented youngster who tasted success on Wednesday night.

His sister Kiara was named the girls' overall most improved, with Christopher Madden claiming the boys' spoils.

"We enjoyed another successful season," president Clare Thrift said.

"The club boasted 53 [registered] athletes - and everyone should be proud of their efforts.

"Joanne Hamson, Aaron Hamson, Benji Maslen and Bryce Conway represented Denman at zone in December, while the Hamsons progressed to regionals.

"Joanne qualified for the 100m hurdles and Aaron for the 400m, discus and shot put.

"I'd like to thank the committee members for their assistance, too.

"They, with the help of the parents, are an integral part of running the club - from marking the lines to maintaining records, manning the canteen to timekeeping, and much more.

"To that end, Sherann Buxton was named Volunteer of the Year."

Thrift said the organisation was thrilled to receive a number of grants throughout 2019-2020.

Glencore's Mangoola also purchased 54 new hurdles valued at $6500, Coles donated $1500 worth of gear (discuss, shot put and Tiny Tots equipment) and Muswellbrook Race Club provided scissor mats worth $2000.

"I'd like to express my gratitude to those companies for their support," she said.

"As well as Alex Newton, our grants officer, who worked hard to secure some much-needed funding.

"We were lucky to put our new shed to good use."

Denman Little Athletics 2019-2020 award winners

Sportsperson of the Year - Seth De Looze

Club Volunteer of the Year - Sherann Buxton

Overall Most Improved - girl, Kiara De Looze; boy, Christopher Madden

Highest pointscore

Under-6 - girl, Ebony Thrift and Claire Mepham; boy, Callum Clement

Under-7 - girl, Penny Ballard; boy, Benji Maslen and Jayden McDonald

Under-8 - girl, Charlotte Walker; boy, James Clement

Under-9 - girl, Charlotte Head; boy, Deakan McDonald

Under-10 - girl, Mya Haataja; boy, Archie Thrift

Under-11 - girl, Isabelle Pike; boy, Theo Ballard

Under-12 - girl, Kaitlyn Thrift

Under-13 - girl, Georgia Hodgson

Under-14 - NA

Under-15 - boy, Aaron Hamson

Under-17 - girl, Joanne Hamson


Under-6 - girl, Aleeya Cornell; boy, Bryce Conway

Under-7 - girl, Matilda Head; boy, Alex Stacy

Under-8 - girl, Macey Margery; boy, Baden Randle

Under-9 - girl, Tahlea Prior, Bridie Margery

Under-10 - girl, Ruby-Lea Stacy; boy, Nate Morrison

Under-11 - girl, Bonnie Chance-Collins; boy, Tallen Hebbard

Under-12 - girl, Kaliea Morrison